Blue Zones

Standard

If you are abled bodied, walking is one of the greatest forms of relaxation and exercise. I love walking. I’ve had to slow down in the past year due to some weird thing going on with my left leg. But, I’m still going. Just slower.

Last year I got together with a group of people and we started walking on Saturdays. We started in January and trudged through the snow and blizzard conditions for most of it. Later, we added Sundays to our schedule. Our start times vary depending on the season; temperatures, sun rise, and bugs are things to consider. Sometimes one or two of us may miss a day but as far as the group goes, we haven’t missed a weekend yet.

Early on we started to socialize outside of walking. Now I call these people friends and I can’t imagine not spending time with them. In many ways, we are all very different. And, if you had asked me two years ago if I thought we would all be friends, I wouldn’t have believed it. But, the more I get to know them, the more I think they are all just as weird as I am and I love them.

One day, my friend, Caryn, mentioned Blue Zones. Check it out here. It’s interesting stuff.  I love the connection she made to our walking group. These people are part of my tribe.

Check out the Power 9 and let me know what you all think.

Peace.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

